Trump does not recall being aware

animeyfied picture of Donald Trump, 2024

One of the grand masters of the memory gap is former US President Donald Trump. During questioning by Special Counsel Robert Mueller (Muller Report), Donald Trump repeatedly hid behind memory gaps. He did this 27 (!) times in total. The questions Muller asked were not factual questions; Muller did not want to know the 20-digit password to Trump's crypto wallet or exactly how osmosis or cell division works. He asked simple questions that were intended to shed light on correlations. For example, Muller asked whether Trump knew that some of his Russian interlocutors held official positions within the Russian state apparatus. The answer is telling: Trump could not remember being aware of this.

Instead of telling the truth, Trump, who always boasts an almost infallible memory, prefers to pathologize two of his “senses” at once. His memory (I can't remember) and his consciousness (I was not aware). For those who – like me – measure Trump against his own statements and reproach him for boasting a world-class memory, Trump has a particularly imaginative answer at the ready. He simply can't remember ever having said that. He said the following: “I mean I don't remember that, okay. As good as my memory is, I don't remember that. But I have a good memory. I don't remember that.”